STEP Programme

STEP COMMITTEE:

Sally Ogden (Lead for online resources)

Emily Hoyle (Step 1 Co-ordinator)

Frankie Patino (Step 1 Co-ordinator)

Alex Cleator (Step 2 Co-ordinator)

Isobel Salter (Step 2 Co-ordinator)

Jenny Loughnane (Step 3 Co-ordinator)

Frances Callaghan​ (Step 3 Co-ordinator)


Postgraduate Education at Alder Hey:

Lindsay Brunt

Helen Blackburn

Pg-education@alderhey.nhs.uk

Advance Platform Administrator:

Advance.platform@lwh.nhs.uk

 

RCPCH

RCPCH:

https://www.rcpch.ac.uk/


Trainee Representative:

Dr Thomas Leyland merseyrcpch.tc@gmail.com

Royal College Regional Lead: Dr Rosaline Garr Rosaline.garr@nhs.net

Student discount card: TOTUM (formerly NUS)

https://www.rcpch.ac.uk/news-events/news/membership-benefit-month-totum-card-rcpch-trainees

 

North West School of Paediatrics

The North West School of Paediatrics is one school but has two sets of rotations (Cheshire/Mersey and Greater Manchester/Lancashire). Once allocated to one of these rotations, trainees rotate only within their region.

Some more information and contact details are below. 

North West School of Paediatrics Trainee Handbook

Author: Dr Phil Neill

Edited and Updated by Dr Helen Manning and Dr Anna Power.

(To open click on underlined title)

Head of North West School of Paediatrics: Colin Morgan 

colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk 


Associate Head of North West School of Paediatrics: Ruth Gottstein 

ruth.gottstein@mft.nhs.uk


Mersey Deanery Training Programme Directors (TPD)

TPD ST1-3: Dr Nasim Mahmood  

Nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

TPD ST4-8: Dr Ian Kilroy  

i.kilroy@nhs.net

Greater Manchester and Lancs TPDs

TPD ST1-3: Dr Sunil Bagewadi 

Sunil.Bagewadi@nca.nhs.uk

TPD ST4-8: Dr Guy Makin

Guy.Makin@mft.nhs.uk

HENW: 

Programme Support Manager: Emma Woods

emma.woods@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2573

Programme Support Co-ordinator:

Caron Owens 

Caron.owens@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2586

Programme Support Administrator for Cheshire & Mersey:

Jennifer Tomley

Jennifer.tomley@hee.nhs.uk


HENW Trainee Representative: Dr Jess MacWilliams

LTFT, SuppoRTT champions and Careers: Dr Fulya Mehta 

SuppoRTT Trainee Representative: Dr Laura Wade/ Dr Michelle Keane

 

Cheshire and Mersey Paediatrics

Mentoring: 

merseymentoring1@gmail.com

Mersey EDI representative:

Khaled Hadi

Khaledhadi_27@hotmail.com

North West EDI representative:

Maria Hadjicosta 

mariaediman@yahoo.com

 

Lead Employer

www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk


General enquiries: 

 lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk. 0151 426 1600


 Payroll: 

leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk. 0151 290 4658

**Include 'Paediatrics, Cheshire and Mersey' in subject line** 

 
 

Professional Bodies

BMA:

https://www.bma.org.uk/


Doctors' Association UK:

http://www.dauk.org/

MDDUS:

info@mddus.com

Hospital Consultants and Specialists Association:

http://www.hcsa.com

Medical Defence Union:

https://www.themdu.com/


Medical Protection Society:

https://www.medicalprotection.org/UK

GMC:

https://webcache.gmc-uk.org/ecustomer_enu/index.aspx

 

Doctors Welfare

Insight Wellbeing at Work: www.insightwellbeingatwork.org  

0800 027 7844 or 0300 555 0120

The Lead Employer’s Employer Assistance Programme provider (EAP) Insight Healthcare offers confidential 24-hour helpline access, session-based counselling, legal and financial advice and various other specialist services.

HENW Trainee support network: https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/TSN (click on directory for list of services)

BMA Counselling and peer support for doctors and medical students (NB don't have to be BMA member to use):

Confidential 24/7 counselling and peer support services open to all doctors, medical students plus partners and dependents, 0330 123 1245.

Doctors’ Support Network: http://www.dsn.org.uk/

The DSN is a confidential, peer support network for doctors and medical students with concerns about their mental health. As a registered charity, they aim to raise awareness, reduce stigma and influence the agenda regarding physician health.

Hope 4 Medics: http://www.hope4medics.co.uk/support.php

HOPE provides support and advice for doctors with a disability or chronic illness. The site was created by a doctor as a sign-posting service direct to relevant services and advice.